top of page
Search

Connecting to Family - May 12th

Scripture Reading…2 Timothy 1:1-14



Devotion


I (Steve) love the picture of discipleship given to us in 2 Timothy 1:5. This faith was first in grandma, then mom, and was now dwelling in Timothy. This is a disciple making another disciple who makes another disciple. I know I can say the same thing. My grandparent’s faith, dwelled in my mom (I didn’t know my dad’s parents), then in my mom, and she did all she could to give that faith to me. Now, it is my prayer that this faith doesn’t stop with me. I pray that Julie and Clay will share this powerful and wonderful faith in Jesus Christ that I have. Here is one thing I know…this won’t happen by accident. This can’t happen without being intentional in passing it on to them. It won’t happen just by bringing them to church or a youth group functions (although that helps!!!). It won’t happen unless faith is a living and active part of Cindy and my life.


You have heard it said that some things are better caught than taught. I believe that is true with faith. That is not to say teaching isn’t important…it absolutely is, but if they don’t see me living it out, all the teaching in the world is going to be hard to make stick!! Jesus says in Matthew 7:24, “Everyone who hears these words of mine and DOES them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock.” I emphasize the word “does” because Jesus is saying to us that hearing his words isn’t enough.


Let me ask you, what are you doing right now to make sure that you are passing on a legacy of faith to your children. If you don’t have children, what are you doing to make sure you are passing on a legacy of faith to others? It is NEVER too late to start!


CHALLENGE FOR THE DAY

  • Walk at least one mile today.

  • Respond to the online community.

  • Foster relationships between your children and other trustworthy adults. If you don’t have children, be that trustworthy adult. Start today! Get together with those trustworthy friends today...or this week, tell them what you are trying to do, and invest in your children in a very powerful way.



48 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page